The End of An Era

Standard

ImageAs many of you know by now, I have resigned from my position as Assistant Property Manager.  It truly is the end of an era.  The past three years have been amazing to say the least, but I learned something about myself over the past few months.  I’m not cut out for the management side of Property Management.  

Marketing, sales and customer service is my passion, but my new position brought with it a drastic shift in focus.  I no longer had the drive and excitement I once had.  Every day began with a struggle to find motivation to drive the 40 minute commute to a job I now hated.  

So what kept me going?  The residents.  I grappled with the decision of leaving for a while now, but I knew I would miss the smiling faces and conversations with students I had grown close to.  For any of them who may be reading this, please know that you were the reason I came to work everyday.  You motivate me and I wish you all the best.  I’m sorry that I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye…. I don’t like goodbyes anyway…so instead…farewell and I hope to cross paths in the future.   

Could things have been different?  Absolutely, but we’ll leave that for a new series I’ll be writing over the next few weeks.  

I’ve been asked several times “What are you going to do?”.  The answer to that is simple.  I plan to take time to do some soul searching, work on a few projects and write a few blogs.  One thing’s for sure- I love Multifamily so I plan to continue in the industry!  

 For many people a job is more than an income – it’s an important part of who we are. So a career transition of any sort is one of the most unsettling experiences you can face in your life. Paul Clitheroe

 

~Angela

4 responses »

  1. Angela, you are an inspiration and I know you will do great things! You made a tough and very courageous decision. Good luck in all that you do. I am looking forward to hearing great things from you!

  2. There is no job worth sacrificing your happiness and peace of mind! I look forward to watching your career. You’re very talented and smart, I’m positive you’ll go far!

Leave a Reply

