So.cl – The 1st Holistic Social Network Experience

Standard

As many of you already know, I’m an avid social media user.  I constantly test new platforms, strategies and I love sharing the good, the bad and the ugly.  I decided to test out So.cl today.  Let me just tell you, I’m absolutely loving it!  Some have compared the new platform to Google+, but so far, I couldn’t disagree more.  The top five reasons to join So.cl thus far are outlined below.

Engagement:  All social networks strive to provide engagement for their users.  So.cl is quick to deliver.  My first few minutes on the site yielded several followers and shortly after my first post, several more jumped on board.  Not only did they follow me, they also commented, liked and ‘Riffed’ on my posts (So.cl’s version of collaborative sharing).  Of course, engagement on social networks requires a give and take so if you aren’t contributing value to users, you’ll see little return.  That being said, so far, So.cl provides a quick and expansive return with very little effort.

Ease of Use:  Finding relevant content on So.cl is simple.  The platform allows use of hashtags and user tags similar to features found on Twitter, LinkedIn, Google+ and Facebook.  One of my pet peeves about Facebook is the lack of opportunity to find relevant content feeds through keywords.  Twitter, on the other hand, has this feature down pat and I have previously shared ways of capitalizing on those feeds.

User Base:  Contrary to the reported marketing strategy, So.cl appears to have more conversation leaders, industry masterminds and established networkers than students in its current user base.  Creative marketing on their part?  Probably.  Facebook started as a network for college students and given the growth and popularity it’s experienced, a ‘student’ network creates subconscious value to conversation leaders, industry masterminds and established networkers.

Bookmarklet:  One of my favorite features of Pinterest is the bookmarklet.  When I find sharable content, I want to post it easily to the appropriate forum.  So.cl offers a drag and drop bookmarklet so while you are searching the web, you can easily share content to your followers through a button on your favorites bar.

Video Parties: A combination of YouTube and Google+ hangouts, this feature keeps users on the site by providing content normally found throughout a combination of different sites.  Great addition if you ask me and possibly the start of a holistic social experience.  The ‘People watching right now’ widget was a great touch.  Users can now network with like minded individuals while watching content they enjoy.  Do you like movie trailers?  Check out this video party for others who share your interest.

What is So.cl’s BEST feature?  You can pin the images!!  How many times have you wanted to pin an image from Facebook?  You can’t!  Thank you So.cl.  This small addition to the big picture makes me VERY happy!!

I have much more testing to do, but so far, So.cl far exceeds my expectations.  If you haven’t already, check it out.  While you’re there, follow me =)

~Angela

A single conversation across the table with a wise man is better than ten years mere study of books. ~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

2 responses »

  1. thanks for the awesome post! We have been working hard to try and make something new and it is a delight to see the enthusiasm that folks like you are showing. Can’t wait to get to some of the cool things we have in the wings.

Leave a Reply

